A clearer view of borrowing.Free to compare. Always your choice.

Short-term loans. The full picture.

Shorter repayment periods can mean larger instalments. Explore the options carefully and check the complete cost.

Know what is listed

Compare small-loan products from banks and non-bank lenders. Some run for days; others for several months. This is an editorial grouping, not a statutory credit classification.

Check your next few months

Check whether the balance is due on your next salary date or in instalments. A monthly interest rate is not an annual rate, and neither alone shows the full cost.

Avoid borrowing to repeat

If a new loan would repay another short-term loan, pause and look at your budget or consider support first.

11 loan options from 8 lenders to explore

AbsaExpress LoanBank
Loan amountR 1 500 – R 8 000
Repayment term1–6 months
Interest rateUp to 5% / monthUp to 3% on subsequent loans that year
View lender
1–6 month repayments
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

Express Loan has its own costs and insurance requirements. Personal Loan tariffs are not automatically applied to it.

Initiation fee
An initiation fee applies, but the Express Loan page does not state the amount, formula or VAT treatment. Confirm it in your quote.
Monthly service fee
Service fees apply, but the Express Loan page does not publish a monthly amount or VAT breakdown.
Credit life / protection
Credit protection is required. You may replace it with your own suitable existing credit life policy that stays in force for the full loan agreement. The premium and calculation basis are not published on the reviewed page; request the policy schedule.

Before you apply

  • 18 or older; SA ID and proof of address
  • At least R1,500 monthly income
  • Transactional account active for at least three months
  • Three payslips or bank statements

What to check

Interest is stated per month: up to 5% on the first loan and 3% on subsequent loans in the same calendar year. The page inconsistently says exclusive to Absa clients but also gives a branch/call-centre route for new customers. Confirm the route and terms.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP7.

AbsaInstant LoanBankExisting customers
Loan amountR 350 – R 8 000
Repayment termUp to 35 days
Interest rate0–5% per loanFor the entire term, up to 35 days
View lender
Existing Absa salary-account customers
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

The currently linked Instant Loan FAQ describes an upfront fee and limited free death cover. These terms are specific to Instant Loan.

Initiation fee
The FAQ describes a fee from R80 up to 10% of the loan amount, excluding VAT, deducted upfront. It does not give a complete formula; confirm the exact fee and net amount paid to you.
Monthly service fee
A separate monthly service fee is not confirmed in the reviewed Instant Loan FAQ. Check the quote; the R69 Personal Loan fee is not assumed.
Credit life / protection
The FAQ states that death cover is free, capped at R5,627. This is not full-balance cover for every loan up to R8,000. Broader disability or retrenchment benefits are not confirmed; check the applicable terms and exclusions.

Before you apply

  • 18 or older; qualifying existing Absa account
  • At least R3,000 monthly income paid into that account
  • Good credit record and a preselected qualifying limit
  • Prior Instant Loan settled; maximum nine per year

What to check

Full repayment is due on the next salary date, within 35 days. The rate covers the entire loan duration, not a month or a year. A 0% rate does not remove initiation fees or VAT. The free death benefit does not cover the full R8,000 maximum.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP7.

Atlas FinanceCash loanNon-bank
Loan amountR 500 – R 20 000
Repayment term1–9 months
Interest rateNot publishedQuote needed for interest and fees
View lender
Cash loans from R500
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

Atlas’s policy and marketing disagree about insurance cost. Obtain the current premium and full written repayment breakdown.

Initiation fee
No numerical fee or formula is confirmed on the reviewed loan pages. Ask for the amount, VAT treatment and whether it is financed.
Monthly service fee
No numerical monthly service fee or VAT breakdown is confirmed on the reviewed loan pages.
Credit life / protection
The credit life policy requires cover and says premiums are payable monthly, while the loan marketing calls cover free. Equivalent replacement cover is allowed. The policy includes death, disability and retrenchment/loss-of-income benefits, subject to conditions. The premium amount and calculation basis are not confirmed; resolve the cost discrepancy in writing.

Before you apply

  • Original ID, or passport and work permit for foreign applicants
  • Latest payslip
  • Three months bank statements
  • Affordability and credit assessment

What to check

This is the general cash-loan product. The separate domestic-worker product has lower limits (up to R4,000 / four months) and is not represented by the R20,000 range. Marketing short-term language does not establish a legal credit category.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP3994.

BoodleInstalment loan · new customersNon-bankNew customers
Loan amountR 500 – R 5 000
Repayment term1–6 months
Interest rateConfirm ratePublic rate labels differ
View lender
1–6 months; customer limits apply
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

Support publishes a fee formula; the homepage insurance amount is only a representative example. Confirm the complete quote, including VAT.

Initiation fee
R165 plus 10% of the loan amount above R1,000, capped at 15% of the loan amount; add 15% VAT to the fee and cap, as stated in Support.
Monthly service fee
R60 per month plus 15% VAT (R69).
Credit life / protection
The homepage’s R6,000 / 6-month example is above the R5,000 new-customer limit, so its R18 insurance figure does not establish your premium. A new-customer premium, billing basis, compulsory status, covered events and replacement-cover conditions are not confirmed. Request the current policy and quote.

Before you apply

  • South African ID
  • Age 18 or older
  • Access to internet banking
  • Verifiable income for the last 90 days
  • Employment and income information
  • Online banking link and affordability check

What to check

Support gives 0.17% per day; the homepage example uses 3% per month and separately labels a maximum APR of 60%. These are not treated as one comparable rate. Available amount/term combinations and the returning-customer minimum must be confirmed.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP5361.

BoodleInstalment loan · returning customersNon-bankExisting customers
Loan amountUp to R 8 000
Repayment term1–6 months
Interest rateConfirm ratePublic rate labels differ
View lender
1–6 months; customer limits apply
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

Support publishes a fee formula; the homepage insurance amount is only a representative example. Confirm the complete quote, including VAT.

Initiation fee
R165 plus 10% of the loan amount above R1,000, capped at 15% of the loan amount; add 15% VAT to the fee and cap, as stated in Support.
Monthly service fee
R60 per month plus 15% VAT (R69).
Credit life / protection
The R6,000 / 6-month example lists R18 credit life insurance, but does not explicitly state its billing period or calculation basis. Compulsory status, covered events and replacement-cover conditions are not confirmed. Do not apply R18 to every loan; request the current policy and quote.

Before you apply

  • South African ID
  • Age 18 or older
  • Access to internet banking
  • Verifiable income for the last 90 days
  • Employment and income information
  • Online banking link and affordability check

What to check

Support gives 0.17% per day; the homepage example uses 3% per month and separately labels a maximum APR of 60%. These are not treated as one comparable rate. Available amount/term combinations and the returning-customer minimum must be confirmed.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP5361.

FinchoiceMobiMoneyNon-bank
Loan amountR 100 – R 10 000
Repayment term1, 2, 3 months
Interest rate21.25% exampleAnnual interest in the page example
View lender
Withdrawals from an approved account
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

The R5,000 / 3-month example totals R6,126 including interest, fees and insurance. Free activation does not mean free borrowing.

Initiation fee
Charged in portions as money is withdrawn. The loan agreement does not publish a universal numerical tariff; check the pre-agreement quotation.
Monthly service fee
The amount is specified in the pre-agreement quotation. A numerical monthly fee and VAT breakdown are not confirmed on the reviewed pages.
Credit life / protection
The Personal Protection Plan is mandatory, with equivalent replacement cover allowed. Unlike a regular loan, MobiMoney premiums use the deferred balance from time to time, at a rate per R1,000. No numerical premium rate is published; check the policy schedule for your covered risks and exclusions.

Before you apply

  • Approved MobiMoney account and affordability assessment
  • Accept a DebiCheck mandate
  • Upload the documents requested by Finchoice

What to check

The withdrawal range starts at R100; the calculator starts at R500. These are withdrawals against an approved limit, not standalone personal loans. The example rate is not a guaranteed offer.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP8162 / NCRCP23514.

Lime24Short-term loanNon-bank
Loan amountR 500 – R 8 000
Repayment term5–90 days
Interest rateNot publishedRequest the rate and full fee breakdown
View lender
Terms in days, not calendar months
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

The reviewed public pages do not disclose numerical charges. The pre-agreement quotation must be checked for the complete borrowing cost.

Initiation fee
Amount, formula and VAT treatment are not disclosed on the reviewed public pages. Obtain the initiation charge in the pre-agreement quotation.
Monthly service fee
A numerical monthly service fee and VAT treatment are not disclosed on the reviewed public pages. Confirm whether a fee applies.
Credit life / protection
The reviewed pages do not confirm compulsory status, a premium, calculation basis or covered events. Request the applicable insurance terms; unknown costs are not zero.

Before you apply

  • SA ID number
  • Cellphone number and email address
  • Bank account and employment details
  • Latest 3 months bank statements showing the latest 3 salary deposits
  • Fixed income and affordability assessment
  • Electronic agreement and DebiCheck authorisation

What to check

The public calculator spans R500–R8,000 and 5–90 days. Ninety days is not treated as three calendar months. No distinct first-time/returning limit was confirmed. Available combinations depend on assessment.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP8077.

NedbankQuick LoanBank
Loan amountR 500 – R 50 000
Repayment term1–12 months
Interest ratePersonalisedInterest and fees provided before acceptance
View lender
1–12 months via the Money app
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

Quick Loan pricing is personalised and disclosed before acceptance. The older salary-advance tariff is not used for this product.

Initiation fee
An initiation fee applies, including on early settlement. The Quick Loan FAQ does not publish a numerical tariff; check the quote.
Monthly service fee
A separate monthly service-fee amount is not confirmed in the Quick Loan FAQ. Ask whether it applies and whether the quoted charges include VAT.
Credit life / protection
The reviewed Quick Loan page does not confirm compulsory cover, a premium or its calculation basis. Confirm insurance separately; Personal Loan Assurance terms are not assumed to apply to Quick Loans.

Before you apply

  • South African citizen, aged 18–65
  • Income paid electronically into a bank account
  • Permanent, contract or self-employment and affordability assessment

What to check

This current product offers R500–R50,000 over 1–12 months. The 2026 pricing guide separately lists an older R250–R6,000 salary-linked short-term product. Its 8% fee is not applied to Quick Loans.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP16.

UnifiPersonal loan · new customersNon-bankNew customers
Loan amountUp to R 12 000
Repayment term3–9 months
Published APR95.9–121.1% APRPublished APR; not nominal interest
View lender
First-time limit up to R12,000
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

Unifi’s R8,000 / 6-month example publishes VAT-inclusive fees. Those figures are not a universal quote.

Initiation fee
R995 including VAT in the R8,000 / 6-month example. A universal fee formula is not confirmed.
Monthly service fee
R69 per month including VAT in the representative example.
Credit life / protection
The reviewed South Africa product page and FAQ do not specify compulsory insurance, a premium, its calculation basis or replacement-cover conditions. Confirm whether cover applies and request its terms.

Before you apply

  • South African citizen over 20
  • Formally employed
  • Monthly salary paid into own active bank account
  • Supported banks: Absa, FNB, Standard Bank, Capitec, Nedbank, African Bank, TymeBank
  • FAQ excludes debt-review/insolvent applicants and weekly/fortnightly/self-employed income schedules

What to check

The official article gives a R12,000 first-time limit; a minimum and returning-customer limit are unconfirmed. The homepage example’s instalments and total do not reconcile. Its 3% interest label has no explicit period. We display the separately published APR, without deriving a repayment.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP4849.

WongaShort-term loan · new customersNon-bankNew customers
Loan amountR 500 – R 5 000
Repayment termUp to 3 months
Interest rateUp to 5% / monthMonthly interest, plus fees
View lender
Separate first-time and returning limits
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

Wonga publishes VAT-inclusive fees and shows the loan-specific breakdown in its calculator. Check the final quote before accepting.

Initiation fee
An initiation fee applies. The reviewed Transparency section does not publish a formula or fixed amount; check the calculator and quote. Published fees include 15% VAT.
Monthly service fee
R69 per month, pro-rated for the first 30 days, including 15% VAT.
Credit life / protection
Compulsory status, premium, cover and replacement-policy conditions are not disclosed on the reviewed pages. Confirm whether insurance applies; undisclosed does not mean free.

Before you apply

  • Cellphone number
  • SA ID number
  • Bank account details
  • Employment, income and expenses information
  • Most recent payslip or bank statement to verify income
  • Affordability/credit decision and DebiCheck approval

What to check

New customers: R500–R5,000, up to three months; returning customers: up to R8,000, up to six. The public slider’s day limits change with the date; they are not treated as permanent term bounds. Minimum term and returning-customer minimum amount need confirmation.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP12875.

WongaShort-term loan · returning customersNon-bankExisting customers
Loan amountUp to R 8 000
Repayment termUp to 6 months
Interest rateUp to 5% / monthMonthly interest, plus fees
View lender
Separate first-time and returning limits
Fees & details

Fees & insurance

Wonga publishes VAT-inclusive fees and shows the loan-specific breakdown in its calculator. Check the final quote before accepting.

Initiation fee
An initiation fee applies. The reviewed Transparency section does not publish a formula or fixed amount; check the calculator and quote. Published fees include 15% VAT.
Monthly service fee
R69 per month, pro-rated for the first 30 days, including 15% VAT.
Credit life / protection
Compulsory status, premium, cover and replacement-policy conditions are not disclosed on the reviewed pages. Confirm whether insurance applies; undisclosed does not mean free.

Before you apply

  • Cellphone number
  • SA ID number
  • Bank account details
  • Employment, income and expenses information
  • Most recent payslip or bank statement to verify income
  • Affordability/credit decision and DebiCheck approval

What to check

New customers: R500–R5,000, up to three months; returning customers: up to R8,000, up to six. The public slider’s day limits change with the date; they are not treated as permanent term bounds. Minimum term and returning-customer minimum amount need confirmation.

Source checked 7 November 2026. Registration stated by lender: NCRCP12875.

A selection of the market, not every lender. Rates and approval depend on your circumstances. How we compare

Your shortlist

The details, side by side.

Published product information. Request individual quotes to compare your actual costs.

At a glance
Loan amount
Repayment terms
Rate & basis
Customer status
Initiation fee
Monthly service fee
Credit life / protection
Cost notes
Before you apply
What to check
Explore